Starting Fresh

How many times have I started a new plan or challenge or diet or exercise program just to fall off of the wagon after a few hour/days? Too many to count. This eating well and exercising thing is both the easiest (and most common sense thing) and the most difficult thing to do ever. I know exactly what I need to do, but I just cant seem to get the plan going.  I also know that if I could just start and get a week or two of loss under my belt I would find the momentum to carry on.

So with that in mind I have decided to do the following:

To challenge myself to 4 weeks of 100% ON PLAN eating and exercise and sleep. So, the goal for the 4 weeks is to
1) Lose weight (at least 1kg per week for the duration of the challenge)
2) Start exercising (working up to doing some form of exercise 6 days/week)
3) Eat well (100% on plan for 4 weeks – no cheats its only 4 weeks)
4) Get enough sleep (at least 7.5 hrs/night).

To make it a challenge:
– Take weekly pictures + weigh in weekly (will do a post on this now… ;))
– Have a “prize” at the end if I’m successful (like a massage or a new outfit)
– Do weekly goals
– Daily accountability with DH (he will enjoy kicking my butt if he needs to…)

What I am going to do:
Eating plan (5 “meals” per day):
* breakfast – oats and cottage cheese/boiled egg/nuts or muesli and yoghurt or breakfast muffins (make on the weekend)
* snack – fruit/yoghurt + protein (biltong/cheese/nuts/chicken)
* lunch – lean protein (chicken, fish, red meat 1x/week), rice/sweet potato/pasta (keep to 1/2 cup of starch – this is NB), 1-2 cups of other veggies/salad/plain veggie soup
* snack – fruit/yoghurt + protein (biltong/cheese/nuts/chicken)
* supper – lean protein (chicken, fish, red meat 1x/week), rice/sweet potato/pasta (keep to 1/2 cup of starch – this is NB), 1-2 cups of other veggies/salad/plain veggie soup

Exercise – Start with the 30 day little black dress fitness challenge + walking for 30mins three times per week.

So that’s the plan.  I know that if I can just start it I will be able to keep going, but the starting is the most difficult.

Leave a Reply

